students landing page

Student Activities

There are many ways to get involved and make your mark on Spalding’s campus!  Join one of the more than 30 student organizations listed below or create your own.  If you’re interested in developing your own student organization contact Dr. Rick Hudson, Dean of Students.

 

Academic/Educational

Applied Behavior Analysis Organization

To support the academic and professional development of students in the graduate program in Applied Behavior Analysis.

None (President)

None (Advisor)

Kentucky Education Association Student Program 

KEASP provides pre-service teachers and others interested in education with professional development, service and leadership opportunities with p-12 schools.

Christina M. Pusty (President) cpusty@spalding.edu

Karen Dunnagan (Advisor) Kdunnagan@spalding.edu

Math & Science Society 

Explores opportunities within the academic fields of math and science and shares common interests.

None – (President)

Kathleen Klueber (Advisor) kklueber@spalding.edu

Natural Science Student Association

No Information

Phi Alpha (National Honor Society)     

The purpose of Phi Alpha Honor Society is to provide a close bond among students of social work and promote humanitarian goals and ideals.

Keyonna Johnson (President) kjohnson09@spalding.edu

Jennifer Jewell (Advisor) jjewell@spalding.edu

Pi Theta Epsilon (Beta Rho Chapter)

Pi Theta Epsilon is a specialized honor society for occupational therapy students and alumni, promoting research and scholarship.

Molly Miller (President) Mmiller16@spalding.edu

None – (Advisor)

Psi Chi  

Organized for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology.

Regina Majestro(President) rmajestro@spalding.edu

Amanda Wyrick (Advisor) awyrick@saplding.edu

Spalding University Occupational Therapy Association (SUSOTA)

Provides opportunities for professional development through networking, service, and fellowship. 

Laura Jones (President) ljones11@spalding.edu

None – (Advisor)

Spalding University Nursing Students (SUNS)  

Provides programs on recent advances in health care and networking opportunities with other health care professionals.

None (President)

Becky Gesler (Advisor) rgesler@spalding.edu

Spalding Association of Social Workers (SSWA)

Promotes a heightened awareness of social issues and encourages the development of profession skills.

Robert Sims (President) rsims01@spalding.edu

Stacy Deck (Advisor) sdeck@spalding.edu

Service

Campus Activities Board

Supports students in Imagineering opportunities that promote learning and service to sustain an engaged and compassionate Spalding community.

None – (President)

Janelle Rae (Advisor) jrae@spalding.edu

Consent is Sexy

Encouraging promotion awareness of safe sex practice, discussion, sexual health and emotional well-being.

None – (President)

Allison From (Advisor) afrom@spalding.edu

Egan Service Living

Members devote time to helping others less fortunate through our volunteer services. Limited positions, application only.

Shelby Meyers (President) smeyers@spalding.edu

Audrey Cecil (Advisor) acecil01@spalding.edu

Green Team 

To explore, support and sustain environmental initiatives, primarily, but not exclusively, on Spalding’s campus.     

Robin Tapp (President) rtapp@spalding.edu

None – (Advisor)

Residence Hall Activities Council 

Providing comfortable living for student residents.

Taylor Stanley (President) tstanley@spalding.edu

Janelle Rae (Advisor) jrae@spalding.edu

Student Government Association

Collective body of student representatives from all organizations and advocates for all students’ needs and concerns.

Abram Deng (President) adeng@spalding.edu

Ron Jackson (Advisor) Rjackson03@spalding.edu

Students 4 Safety

Strives to ensure that all students, faculty and staff enjoy a safe environment in which to learn, teach and work.

Jasmine Clayton (President) Jclayton01@spalding.edu

Tom Van Cader (Advisor) Tvancader@spalding.edu

Veteran Student Association

Support for the academic success of Veteran students and service to individuals for families in need.

John Penezic (President) jpenezic@spalding.edu

None – (Advisor)

Social

Adventure Club

Devoted to exploring recreational sports and adventure activities.   

Brian Borchman (President) bborchman@spalding.edu

Rick Barney  (Advisor) rbarney@spalding.edu

Best Buddies

Establishment of one-to-one friendships between people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. 

Kristina Mucker (President) kmucker@spalding.edu

Kelly Coger (Advisor) Kcoger@spalding.edu

Mindfulness 

Maturing the minds of adolescents and helping them to develop an adult identity and behavior.

None – (President)

Robin Tapp (Advisor) robintapp@insightbb.com

Multi-Cultural Student Association

Promotes awareness of Multi-Cultural students and appreciation of diversity at Spalding.

Taniera Paige  (President) tpaige@spalding.edu

None – (Advisor)

 National Organization for Women (NOW)

To bring awareness to action issues of equity, safety and fairness towards women.

Zoe Leibowitz (President) zleibowitz@spalding.edu

Sam Meyer (Advisor) Smeyer@spalding.edu

Sounds of Unity Inspirational Choir (SOU)

Uplifting Christian principles through song and service to the community.

Sean Hardy (President) Shardy03@spalding.edu

None – (Advisor)

Spalding Actively Cares

A new movement to acknowledge acts of kindness throughout the entire university community. 

Sakshi Sharma (President) ssharma@spalding.edu

Tom Van Cader (Advisor) TVanCader@spalding.edu

Spalding Media Internet Radio Kinship (SMIRK)  

Spalding’s own campus radio station.  http://spaldingsmirk.wordpress.com/

James Fugett  (President) jfugett@spalding.edu

Melissa Chastain (Advisor) MChastain@spalding.edu

Unanimity

Spalding’s Gay Straight Alliance exists to provide a safe and supportive environment for lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, questioning, and transgender youth and their straight allies.

Bridgette Cruse (President) bcruse@spalding.edu 

Rudy Clark (Advisor) rclark05@spalding.edu

 The Underground Artist Movement

Students from the Kentucky School of Art promote a creative and productive life through a higher education in the visual arts.

Em Rowan (President) erowan@spalding.edu

Ryan Patterson (Advisor) cryanpatterson@gmail.com

Young Black and Gifted

Mentoring program that assigns an established Spalding student to an incoming freshman to create community and support academic success.

Kiya Cleveland (President) kcleveland@spalding.edu

Dr. Chris Kolb (Advisor) ckolb@spalding.edu

Greek Letter Organizations

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Greek Letter Organization organized to support sisterhood and service to the community.  

None – (President)

Vicki Montgomery (Advisor) vmontgomery@spalding.edu

Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.

Greek Letter Organization dedicated to the development and perpetuation of scholarship, leadership, citizenship, fidelity and brotherhood amongst men.

Trevin Bass (President) Trevin.Bass@gmail.com

H.A. Hasan Ph.D (Advisor) hasan@spalding.edu

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. 

Greek Letter Organization organized on the precepts of Scholarship, Service, Sisterly Love and Finer Womanhood.

Wenona Smith (President) taurho1920@yahoo.com

Janelle Rae (Advisor) jrae@spalding.edu