School of Natural Science Faculty and Staff

Dr. Victor Andrade, Assistant Professor
Dr. John Burden, Provost, Professor of Chemistry
Dr. Jennifer Flowers Doyle, Chair and Associate Professor
Yohan Kim, Lecturer
Johnnie Newton, Instructor
Dr. Aroyka Papu John, Lecturer
Dr. Lisa Potts, Assistant Professor
Lawrence Reining, Assistant Professor
Dr. Jeremy White, Associate Professor
Lori Silaghi, Administrative Assistant

Health Science Faculty

Dr. Patricia Spurr, Professor, Program Director
Dr. Erica Lemberger, Associate Professor
Dr. Necholyia Wright, Associate Professor
Cindy Todd, MSN, RN, Adjunct Lecturer
Dr. Tracy Duncan, Adjunct Assistant Professor
Dr. Pam King, Adjunct Assistant Professor
Dr. Deanna Deaton, Adjunct Assistant Professor
Dr. Jennifer Wolford, Adjunct Assistant Professor

School of Liberal Studies Faculty and Staff

Dr. Pattie Dillon, Chair and Professor
Dr. Deonte Hollowell, Associate Professor
Dr. Youn-Kyung Kim, Professor
Dr. Christopher Kolb, Associate Professor
Charles Maynard, Writing Center Director/Assistant Professor
Dr. Kathleen Nesbitt, Professor
Dr. Dorina Miller Parmenter, Professor
Dr. John Wilcox, Professor
Minda Reves, Creative Writing BFA Program Director
Tiffany Jacobs, Administrative Assistant

Thank you to Lightspeed Productions for providing photography at our commencement ceremonies. The link to online photos will be available at https://lsp-pros.com/event-photos for our graduates to download free of charge.



Spalding University

School of Natural Science Bachelor of Science Health Science School of Liberal Studies Awards Ceremony and Commencement

Thursday, June 3, 2021 11:00 a.m. College Street Ballroom 812 South Second Street Louisville, Kentucky 40203

Awards

O'Leary Award

Named after Sister Mary Adeline O'Leary, one of the founding members of Spalding and a nationally known research chemist, the O'Leary Award honors an outstanding senior in the School of Natural Science who gives evidence of intellectual achievement, leadership, personal integrity, and commitment to service.

Outstanding Health Science Student Engagement Award

The Outstanding Health Science Student Engagement Award is given to a graduating student who demonstrates the importance of active learning and taking pride in understanding and incorporating material into their lives and the lives of others.

Louise Kannapell Award

The Louise Kannapell Award in Humanities and Social Sciences is given annually to a graduating senior, chosen by the School faculty who best represents the values Louise Kannapell espoused as a professor of English at Spalding: intellectual achievement and integrity; aesthetic sensitivity; leadership; concern for others; generosity of spirit.

School of Liberal Studies

Faculty Award in Interdisciplinary Excellence

The Faculty Award in Interdisciplinary Excellence is chosen by the School faculty and awarded to an Interdisciplinary Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Liberal Studies, or Interdisciplinary Humanities major whose Senior Capstone Project demonstrates an outstanding ability in three areas: the capacity to 1) use knowledge rather than simply accumulate it; 2) build on knowledge and modes of thinking central to the work of experts in the disciplines; and 3) integrate at least two disciplinary perspectives to achieve an insight, solution, account, or explanation of the topic.

School of Liberal Studies Graduates 2020

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Interdisciplinary Humanities

Patricia Turner

Bachelor of Arts in Interdisciplinary Liberal Studies

Cierra Danielle Evans ‡
Ashleigh Mae Huff
Chuck Thomas

Bachelor of Arts in Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

Abdullahi Ibrahim Abdullahi Margaret Ella Boomer ‡ Myah S. Duncan † Margaret Ann Stern

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Creative Writing

Cassie Bilyeu
Jodan Godby-Archangel
Z.C. Loki
Sally Margaret Rother ±
Leo Smith ‡

School of Liberal Studies Graduates 2021

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Interdisciplinary Humanities

Taylor A. Hines

Bachelor of Arts in Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

Monique C. Brock Chaney Nicole Perry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Creative Writing

Brandon Scotto Cochran ±
Avery Perkins ±
Savasia Thompson

Awards Program and Commencement Ceremony

Processional

Welcome Dr. Patricia Spurr, MSN, CNE, FRE, RN

Professor and Program Director RN to BSN/MSN &

Bachelor of Health Science

Invocation Dr. Jeremy White

Associate Professor, School of Natural Science

O'Leary Award Dr. Jennifer Flowers Doyle

Chair and Associate Professor of Biology

School of Natural Science

Outstanding Health Dr. Patricia Spurr, MSN, CNE, FRE, RN

Science Student

Professor and Program Director RN to BSN/MSN &

Engagement Award Bachelor of Health Science

Louise Kannapell

Award

Dr. Deonte Hollowell

Associate Professor of History

School of Liberal Dr. Pattie Dillon

Studies Faculty Award in Interdisciplinary

Excellence

Chair and Professor of History

School of Liberal Studies

Conferral of Degrees Tori Murden McClure, M.Div., J.D., MFA '05

President

Salute to Graduates Tori Murden McClure, M.Div., J.D., MFA '05

President

Closing Remarks Minda Reves

Creative Writing BFA Program Director

Recessional

School of Natural Science Graduates

2020

Bachelor of Science in Natural Science

Megan Nicole Blanton † Danielle Marie Bridge Andrew Zachary Cheatham Austin Webb Drake Jenny R. Graham † Laken Heavner ‡ Mackenzie L. Henderson Anthony Cole Irwin Brianna N. Marr ± Joseph M. Railey † Erfan Rezai Morgan Christina Riggle

2021

Bachelor of Science in Natural Science

Nathan W. Chapman Kirsten Bailey Gagel ± Kassidy Hill Theresa-Anne Marie Kwarciany Shelby Elizabeth Miracle ‡ James George Payne Claudia M. Spivey

Bachelor of Science Health Science Graduates Bachelor of Science in Health Science

2021

2020 Kasim Alsalman

Chloe Bennett Mckenzie Brockwell Taylor Kay Bruner Ashley M. Cissell ‡

Shianne Christian Cornice Davis Kristen Nicole Ellis

Samantha Taylor Fell

Mary Foster

Amber Catherine Higdon

Maegan Leanne Holmes

Ontario Hullum

Alysha Johnson

Ja'Nesha Alexis McDuffie

Kimberly Michelle Meyer

Alexa Moncibaez

Shaun Montgomery

Ashton McKella Parish †

Krysta Lynn Parker

Abigail Phillips

Crystal Ramos

Brittany Jo Rickert †

Evrica Roos

Kara Nicole Roper

Samantha Sears

Lisa D. Shimpock

Alexandria Marie Shoup

Kyla Jewel Sipes

Abigail Sweeney

Raven Vega

Emma C. Wade

Allen Keith Wallace Jr.

Abigail N. Wilder

Rebecca Madison Wix

Abby Booker ± Michaele A. Clayton-Harrison Forrest Franklin Coffey Alexis Cook ‡

Morgan Berning †

Caroline Fouts

Sita Ghimirey

Madison Rose Druin

Cameron Joseph Goebel

Megan Grace ‡

Brittany Alexis Clarice Gray Glen Andrew Handley

Madilyn Grace Hayes ±

Maleah Faith Hirn ±

Catherine Abigail Hurst

Brittany B. Loyall

Carly Michele Lynch ‡

Nicholas L. Payne ±

Kelsey Lanae Phillips ±

Jace Pinkston ‡

Shakira Smith-Ward Ericka Leceleste Toller

[‡] Magna Cum Laude (overall GPA of 3.70 to 3.89)

[±] Summa Cum Laude (overall GPA of 3.90 to 4.00)

[†] Cum Laude (overall GPA of 3.50 to 3.69)